Kim Desrouleaux

January 2023
Blog Hero Image

Name:  Kim Desrouleaux

Hometown: Toronto 

Age: 54

Occupation: Clinical Research Nurse 

When did you first start doing CrossFit?: 10/2020

When did you first start training at CrossFit Katy?: 10/2020

What class do you generally attend (morning/afternoon)? Morning 

Favorite WOD: I don’t have a favorite, but like WODs with: box jumps, burpees, fat rope, sandbag bear crawls, rowing, ball cleans.

Least Favorite WOD: any WOD with the murder bike, running and wall balls.

Tell us about your sports & fitness background: HIT & spin (completely different from the murder bike!).

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? Take us back to your first WOD... what was it, and how did it feel? Dana Heiman had been telling me about CrossFit and CFK, for close to 10 years. My first WOD was a Saturday partner WOD. I felt awkward, but everyone was super supportive.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF (before/after)? I was reasonably fit and healthy before, but I’m much stronger now and have more muscle.

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced since starting CrossFit?  I have a stressful job and the early morning endorphins help reduce the anxiety through the day.

Name one goal you have reached since joining CFK and one goal you want to achieve: I’ve lost my fear of slinging heavy (heavy to me) weight around.

Please share with us any favorite CrossFit / CFK moments: I love all of the smack talk in the morning! I enjoy Jessie’s photo documentation of our victories and epic fails. 😂 The members of CFK have a great sense of humor. 

Any advice for people just getting started? Just turn up and the rest will come.

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit? Concerts, comedy, animals, being in the forest, canoeing, traveling, Renfest. I’m a great cook and love to eat 😂

Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios