Mo Khaleel

Going from not being able to run one mile without stopping 2 to 3 times to run four races in 2019 & finishing all of them with a great time.
By

ATHLETE PROFILE:

Name: Mo Khaleel

untitled
untitled

Hometown: Baghdad/Iraq

Age: 35

Occupation: Drilling Solution Engineer

When did you first start CrossFitting?: October 2018

When did you first start training at CrossFit Katy?: October 2018

What class do you generally attend (morning/afternoon)? Morning 6:00 am

Favorite WOD:
Wall balls, Box Jumps

Least Favorite WOD:
Rowing for calories (I’m dead after 1 Cal), thrusters

Tell us about you sports & fitness background:
I played soccer as a goalie in high school and university, also played for one year in some of Houston and Katy leagues, and volleyball. Staying home for a long time after coming to US while trying to get back to my field and being away from any sports is what took me to 270-280lbs before joining CrossFit Katy in 2018

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? Take us back to your first WOD… what was it, and how did it feel?
I really like being challenged as I take it personally sometimes. When CrossFit conversation came across for weight loss in 2018 with some friends I was told that I won’t last in a CrossFit gym for more than 2 months, I decided to take the challenge and after my first class I almost quit, although the coaches and the amazing team at CrossFit Katy gave me a great support which literally changed my life later.

First WOD was “AMRAP” as far as I remember, I thought the class was over after the warm up session as I lost all my energy at that time.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF (before/after)?
CrossFit literally changed my life, out standing changes in weight/fat loss and muscle weight gain on the other side, level of endurance and fitness

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit that were totally unexpected?
Going from not being able to run one mile without stopping 2 to 3 times to run four races (One 5K, three 10K) in 2019 and finishing all of them with a great time/pace.

Name one goal you have reached since joining CFK and one goal you want to achieve (example: deadlift/squat/press ¬¬¬___ pounds; do a pullup; do a WOD RX’d, etc.):
Going below 30% body fat was a dream came true with CrossFit, next goal will be a 1 bar muscle up (I am dreaming about this).

Please share with us any favorite CrossFit / CFK moments:
The CrossFit Open is always great and gives me the ability to see how much I can push myself, also the everyday sessions support you get from others.

Any advice for people just getting started?
CrossFit is the best sport literally for anyone, always modify your workout and give yourself sometime to see the results.

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit?
I’m a guitarist and a vocalist doing mostly covers and some originals, played in North Africa, Middle East, Chicago, and Houston with different bands (Let me know if you need a musician for your events), also I enjoy spending the time with my wife and little daughter outdoors (When it’s not +100 degrees/100% Humidity).

Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios