Trent Fojtik

When I started I couldn’t even do 10 pushups or run a mile without stopping.
Blog Hero Image




Name:  Trent Fojtik                


Hometown: Edna Tx (Now Sealy Tx)

Age: 27

Occupation:  Electrical Design @ Mustang Engineering

When did you first start CrossFitting?: July 18th, 2013

When did you first start training at CrossFit Katy?: July 18th, 2013

What class do you generally attend (morning/afternoon)? 5:30 AM

Favorite WOD: Anything with Hang Clean and I like Wall Balls for some reason.

Least Favorite WOD: Least favorite movements: Burpees, Push Ups, Pull Ups, Front Squat

Tell us about you sports & fitness background:  I played football and baseball up though my freshman year in high school.  In 2001 during my sophomore year I tore my ACL & MCL playing football. I rehabbed my knee and got active as soon as I possible.  I tore my ACL again in the offseason of 2002, so I decided that I had enough.  I quit everything and haven’t really participated in anything consistently other than beer league softball until I joined CrossFit in 2013.

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? Take us back to your first WOD… what was it, and how did it feel?  I met my wife Lindsey in 2008 and we got married in 2010.  Shortly after moving from Waco to


Katy/Sealy she became obsessed with working out.  She became a certified trainer and begged me all the time to work out.  I showed zero interest until I finally bit the bullet and did a mud run with her. That is when I realized how out of shape I was!  She taught a boot camp that I participated in, but that fizzled out for me. Lindsey found that CrossFit might be something I would be more interested in so she talked me into going with her.  I went to class that morning scared to death!  The WOD was an AMRAP with pushups and lateral hops.  I can remember Leah coming up to me half way through the WOD saying “Trent you should probably stop attempting pushups, you’re not going to be able to take your shirt off.”  She was right! I couldn’t wash my face either!  I couldn’t finish a scaled workout for at least two weeks.  I was really out of shape!

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF (before/after)?  I am really in better shape now than I have ever been.  I have lost over 50 lbs. and 29 inches, 9 inches in my waist alone!  I can see muscle tone that I don’t remember ever being able to see before.

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like CrossFit that were totally unexpected?  I have more energy day to day and am not near as lazy as I used to be.  CrossFit has made me an all-around better person mentally and physically.

Name one goal you have reached since joining CFK and one goal you want to achieve (example:  deadlift/squat/press ­­­___ pounds; do a pullup; do a WOD RX’d, etc.):  I am doing most WOD’s RX.  When I started I couldn’t even do 10 pushups or run a mile without stopping.  I don’t think I have ever been able to do a strict pull up.  I can proudly say I can string a few pull ups together now! I would like to get most of my “Max Lifts” over 225lbs (Deadlift and Back Squat only ones @ 225+).  I would also like to be competitive in a small competition in a non-scaled division.

Please share with us any favorite CrossFit / CFK moments:  Starting out I struggled finishing WOD’s under the class time cap and sometimes still do.  I can remember the people (most I didn’t even know) cheering me to the last place finish.  Those moments are hard to forget!  I enjoy the community at CFK and hope to make many more friends through CrossFit.

Any advice for people just getting started?  Don’t be intimidated.  Don’t quit. You will be amazed at the gains you make within the first 6-8 months.  It’s not easy, but nothing worth it is.  You will meet some great people that will do anything for you.  Being a part of CFK is really something special.  I am addicted to the workouts and the camaraderie.

What are your hobbies, interests and/or talents outside of CrossFit?  I really enjoy anything outdoors including hunting, off-roading, and shooting sports.  I love spending time at deer camp; it’s my favorite time of the year.  I like to collect sports memorabilia of all kinds.  I love watching football at the pro and college level.  I recently picked up a road bike and have enjoyed doing some rides. I did  my first MS150 last year (2013)!  I also love spending time with my new daughter Addison born September 2014.

Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios