Sean Eglinton

team of 3, power cleans, ttb, row, bike
By

Name:  Sean Eglinton

Hometown: San Antonio, TX

Age: 37

Occupation: Assistant County Engineer - Fort Bend County

When did you first start doing CrossFit?: Feb 2020

When did you first start training at CrossFit Katy?: Feb 2020, just before the pandemic shutdown :(

What class do you generally attend (morning/afternoon)? Morning (5am)

Favorite WOD: DT, and any WOD involving power cleans, box jump overs and double unders. 

Least Favorite WOD: The ones involving overhead squats, just because I suck at them, and I have a bit of an overhead mobility issue. I’ve also found that WODs with a thruster/burpee combo are especially brutal. 

Tell us about your sports & fitness background: Played baseball from T-ball up to the team varsity team in high school. After that, nothing for the next 15 years. At age 34 or so I started running on a regular basis. 

How did you first get exposed to CrossFit? Take us back to your first WOD... what was it, and how did it feel? It was an afternoon class, I can't remember all the movements, but it involved pull-ups and overhead squats (what I dread the most). Manny was the coach, and he quickly noticed that I was about to severely injure myself during the OHS warmup. The WOD for me wasn’t too bad because I did the OHS with a PVC pipe facing the wall, and jumping pull-ups from a box. To be honest, I felt embarrassed, but Manny was very encouraging, and he cared a lot about teaching me the mechanics of this ungodly movement. Most of all, he probably saved me from killing myself. I was determined to come back and complete a WOD with dignity. 

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF (before/after)? In less than a year I’ve seen an amazing transformation. Shoulders and chest are bulked up with lean muscle, and I can see my abs for the first time since college. 

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced since starting CrossFit? I was never a morning person, and I would frequently wake up late and have a stressful time rushing to get ready for work. It drove my wife crazy. Attending the 5am CrossFit class has changed all of that now. I’ve found the motivation to get my butt out of bed. Coming home from class I’m wide awake and ready to take on the day. No more stress in the mornings, except for getting the kids ready for school. 

Name one goal you have reached since joining CFK and one goal you want to achieve (example:  deadlift/squat/press ­­­___ pounds; do a pullup; do a WOD RX’d, etc.): Without a doubt my proudest goal that I’ve achieved is learning to do double unders. I have many goals I’ve yet to achieve, but the one I want most is to do a muscle-up. 

Any advice for people just getting started? Don’t feel ashamed if you fail at a WOD miserably. Most people have probably been in the same position. 


Continue Reading

pushpress gym management software for boutique gyms and fitness studios